The Grand Junction Hotel. Hulme. Granted its license in 1846 the - TopicsExpress



          

The Grand Junction Hotel. Hulme. Granted its license in 1846 the pub remains one of the oldest in Hulme. The pub owes its name to its location. In the old days the trams would all terminate there and make the final drop off at the Hulme Hippodrome. The original sign in the licensing records is given as the Grand Junction. The records of Hydes Brewery state that it was intended in 1845 to be a public house, Hydes had ownership from 1916 but held the lease from 1914. During all of this time it had a third floor which remained intact through both World Wars. It sadly lost its third floor in the late 1960s due to dry rot and woodworm. The building throughout all its various stages of neglect remains one of the most attractive looking pubs in the area. Its painted tiles and some of the windows display the monogram HB, for Hydes Brewery. Perhaps the most notable elements in its past are the number of famous stars who have stayed and drank there, which have included Les Dawson and Arthur Askey. Charlie Chaplin lodged there in the 1920s so that could well have been him in the picture of our park!!
Posted on: Sun, 02 Nov 2014 19:02:24 +0000

Trending Topics



Recently Viewed Topics




© 2015